2011-2013 Board Elections



Please select the “ticket” above, and click to “register” your approval or disapproval of the slate of candidates.

The Board of Directors of AIGA Los Angeles is pleased to recommend for your consideration the following slate of candidates for the 2011-2013 Board. If elected, each nominee will serve a two-year term. The slate is afforded an up or down vote, as a whole. A majority of the votes cast will determine the vote. Only current members of AIGA are permitted to vote, your membership number will be required (and checked), at time of “checkout”. 


Please vote no later than Monday, June 27, 2011.


For Member at Large:

Jason Adam

Margaret Black

Jamie Douraghy

Ismael Obregon

Timothy Parzyck

Jeni Stewart

Background on the candidates.

For Member at Large: Jason Adam
Principal/Designer, Hexanine.
(Currently serving as Programming Chair of AIGA LA)

Nominated by Jimmy Moss

Jason is the west coast principal of Hexanine, a design syndicate dedicated to providing powerful brand experiences in print, packaging, identity and web. Clients include Disney, Target, Negra Modelo and Jim Beam. At AIGA LA’s Student Portfolio Day in 2010, Jason answered the call to “get involved” in the chapter, and became the Programming Committee Chair for AIGA LA, overseeing all face-to-face events this past year. Jason earned his BFA in Advertising Design from Western Illinois University.



For Member at Large: Margaret Black
Associate Chair, Art Department, Cal State Long Beach.
Nominated by Ann Enkoji

Margaret is the Associate Chair of the Art Department and the Graduate Advisor at Cal State Long Beach. Previously she has been a Senior Art Director for Rod Dyer, and a Designer at Amgen. She is the principal of Black Design and the co-creative director of Fundi DZN. Her clients include; Audubon CA, Cesar Pelli and Associates, Deluxe, First 5 L.A., Kaiser Permanente, Kodak Digital, Mattel, Technicolor, Paramount Classics Entertainment, UCLA School of Public Health, and Warner Bros. She earned a BFA in Cinema Production from University of Southern California, a BFA in Communication Design from Otis/Parsons Art Institute, and an MFA in Graphic Design from Yale School of Art.



For Member at Large: Jamie Douraghy
President, Artisan Creative
Nominated by José Caballer

Jamie is the President of Artisan Creative, and is the former Regional President for EO - Entrepreneurs Organization a global support network for entrepreneurs representing over $125 billion in sales annually from it's 118 chapters and 7,500 members globally. He currently serves on the Board of Directors at Make a Wish Foundation of Greater Los Angeles. Jamie holds an MA in International Relations from Syracuse University. He hopes to help create and grow support programs for Professional members of the AIGA LA. 



For Member at Large: Ismael Obregon
Creative Director and Founder, Oishii Creative
Nominated by Jimmy Moss

Ismael is Creative Director and Founder of Oishii Creative, where he spearheads all strategic design and branding initiatives for media and entertainment companies. Oishii Creative specializes in brand strategy, show packages and logo development for clients from sports, television and video gaming industries, including NFL Network, NBA TV, NBC, FOX, HBO, Ovation, Tennis Channel, Nicktoons and EA Sports. Ish is a graduate from the Art Institute of Houston. A native of Monterey, Mexico and great-great-grandson of Alvaro Obregon, President of Mexico from 1920 to 1924, Ismael worked closely with Jerry Perenchio on the launch of Telefutura. His other international clients include Antenna 3 (Spain), Al Jazeera (Qatar), TV Works (Singapore), Si TV (U.S.) and Cadena Del Sol (Peru). He strongly believes that design can be made stronger through the sharing of ideas among peers and between generations. He speaks regularly on the subject of branding and motion graphics and mentors young aspiring creatives in the Los Angeles area.



For Member at Large: Timothy Parzyck
Executive VP and Creative Director, Comp24
Nominated by Melanie Paykos

Timothy is Executive VP / Creative Director of Comp24, a graphics and packaging prototype studio. He has over 20 years experience in creating intelligent package design and packaging prototype solutions for some of the world’s most recognized brands including; Nestlé, Coke, Mattel, Disney, Murad, Neutrogena, Apple, Google, VISA, Pizza Hut, ConAgra, GAP and Proctor & Gamble. Tim is a highly respected team leader with proven integrity and meticulous problem solving, communication and organizational skills. He holds a BFA in Graphic Design from the University of Michigan.



For Member at Large: Jeni Stewart
Senior Art Director, Rubin Postaer and Associates
Nominated by Jae Yang

Jeni is a Senior Art Director at Rubin Postaer and Associates. Prior to Rubin Postaer and Associates, Jeni worked at Saatchi & Saatchi LA, Young & Rubicam and Wieden + Kennedy. She’s developed advertising and branding for Honda, Toyota, Land Rover, Mattel, Nike, Xerox, Freightliner, Francisco Bread, Fantastic Sams, In-N-Out Burger and Kawasaki. Jeni served as both president and communications chair for the junior ad club, Ad2, as President and is currently finishing her second term as Communications Chair for MOCA Contemporaries – a support council for the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles. Jeni mentors students age 10-16 in design and photography at Venice Arts. Jeni received her BA in Fine Art, Visual Design from the University of Oregon. She is committed to continuing professional development and to supporting and nurturing creativity in communities. 


When & Where
Mon, Jun 20, 2011 - Tue, Jun 28, 2011 1:00 PM - 8:00 AM